Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Shootout success: honors go to current, former Y.A.C. members

The Youth Advisory Committee's Shoot Out Boulder film team. (Photos in this post courtesy Ruth Wight)
Congratulations to the many members of the Boulder International Film Festival's Youth Advisory Committee, who participated, and won honors, in the ninth annual Shoot Out 24 Hour Filmmaking Festival Boulder!

The festival took place from Friday evening, Oct. 19 through Sunday afternoon, when the top 10 entries were screened and prizes were awarded at the beautiful new eTown Hall at 16th and Spruce Streets. Teams were tasked with creating a seven-minute film in only 24 hours, edited in-camera and including five of eleven items outlined in the opening "Brief." 

The awards for Best Performance and Best Film went to "Appearances," created by former Y.A.C. member, BIFF 2012 video editor, and Selection Committee member Ted Chalfen. Best Art Direction went to Y.A.C. member Carter Linsley for his "The Path." And our all-Y.A.C. effort, led by screenwriter/director Sabrina Caplis, received an honorable mention for their film, "Good Amid These." The other members fo the Y.A.C. filmmaking squad -- Derek Aiello, Danie Thomas, Dane Fogdall, Hunter Schoech, Tristan Santos, Clara Horst, and Anson Adams.

Other winners:

Best Linear Editing - Team #15 "ZOLO"
Best Screenplay - Team #24 "The Phone-y Bad Boy"
Best Comedy & Best Director - Team #31 "Ditchin'"
Best Sound Design & Best Cinematography - Team #26 "Autumn"
Best Original Score - Team #25 "Son of a Mitch"
Honorable Mention - Team #45 "Inhuman"
Silver Spur - Team #49 "The Voter"

No comments:

Post a Comment